Ref:
Date:
Location:
Photographer:

About me

I am a recently retired, West Country, born and bred, bumpkin, currently residing in the village of Willand, Mid Devon, where I have lived since 1986.
I have, for as long as I can remember, always taken photographs. Be it on holiday or just visiting some of the beautiful countryside,or coastal resorts, we have here in the West Country. It was only about 18 months ago, when thoughts of retirement entered my head, that my interest in wildlife photography fully developed. It is now my reason to get up in the morning and, weather permitting, you will find me out and about trying to develop my meagre skills, and or, to better the images I have taken so far. or to capture something new and exciting. I have met some wonderful people who have been generous in sharing their knowledge, be it technical or where the best place may be to see a certain species. Some of these people have become friends and they have all given me inspiration with a shared enthusiasm for what "we" do.

I am a Canon user, having started years ago with a Zenith (like a breeze block with glass in it) and have added various gear over the years. My current set up is with two Canon bodies, 5d Mk3 and the 7d Mk2 coupled to either Canon 600mm F4 IS L, Canon 100-400mm F5.6 Mk2, Canon 70-200mm F2.8 IS L Mk2, Canon 17-40 L and a Sigma (Sigmonster) 300-800mm F5.6. I sometime use a 1.4 converter but only rarely.

I have a Giottos alloy tripod plus a Benro C4570F carbon fibre one, for the big stuff. I cram my gear into either a Benro backpack, (big stuff) or a Tamrac Expedition 7X backpack which comfortably accommodates a lot of gear, plus the essentials like coffee, sandwiches and, my must have, a Picnic. I am NOT affiliated to any of these names I'm just telling you what I use.